Dean Mable L. Millner, Associate Dean of Students for Diversity and Inclusion, Set to Retire

By Ethan Bachand ’22
Chief News Editor

On Wednesday, October 8, Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students Michele Murray announced via email that Associate Dean Mable Millner would be retiring in January. Along with announcing her imminent departure, Dean Murray also included information regarding Dean Milner’s upcoming recognition and the process for selecting a new director for the Office of Multicultural Education.

As the Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, Dean Millner has been a long-time employee of the college for nearly 20 years. Along with her aforementioned title, Dean Millner is also the Director of Multicultural Education and the Vice Chair of the Diversity Leadership team.

Speaking about her impact at College of the Holy Cross, Father Philip L. Boroughs, S.J., president, stated: “Mable helped create the College’s inclusion efforts, and generations of ALANA students and so many others have been fortunate to have her as a mentor. We all owe her a debt of gratitude. She is a valued colleague, and I will miss her presence on campus.”

Margaret Freije, Provost and Dean of the College, added to the praise, telling The Spire: “Throughout my career at Holy Cross I have had multiple opportunities to collaborate with Dean Millner. I particularly appreciated her focus on the experience of our students and her work to create a Holy Cross community that would allow all our students to feel welcomed and included.”

Within the email sent to the campus community, Dean Murray included that, before Dean Millner’s departure, the retiring dean would be formally recognized for her accomplishments on Mount St James as a part of the MLK, Jr. commemoration. Further details are expected in the coming months.

In the same announcement, Dean Murray announced the search committee for a new director of the Office of Multicultural Education. Comprised of 10 campus community members from a wide variety of departments, the committee consists of: Michelle Bata, Kasey Catlett, Emily Davis, Adriana DiPasquale, Ryan Grant, Brenda Hounsell Sullivan, Andre Isaacs, Eli Nassar (Class of 2020), Kelly Saintelus, and Frank Savadera, S.J.

While there will eventually be a new person to fill the positions left by Dean Millner’s retirement, it is clear through the comments of her colleagues that the shoes she leaves behind will not be easy to fill. As Dean Murray commented to The Spire: “Dean Millner is legendary in Jesuit higher education for her commitment to student success, equity, and justice. It has been my honor to work alongside Dean Millner and learn from her 20-year career at Holy Cross. Although she may retire from here in January, her legacy will continue to live on in the ways we whole-heartedly embrace and engage one another across differences.”

Categories: News

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s