Sanctae Crucis Winners Announced

Brendan Bonner ‘23

News Editor

As one of the most challenging years in Holy Cross history comes to a close, we continue to honor one of the college’s longest running traditions, the Sanctae Crucis Awards. Given yearly since 1998, the Sanctae Crucis Award is granted to alumni who are celebrated both in their careers and for the service of their communities. In this past year during the pandemic, alumni have been at the forefront of the battle against COVID-19 and this year’s award ceremony serves to honor their pivotal roles in combating the virus. Without further deliberation, here are this year’s recipients and a bit of information about their contributions to their communities and furthermore, their contributions to the overall battle against the pandemic. 

Dr. Helen W. Boucher, Class of 1986, is a renowned member of the medical community. Serving as the chief of the Division of Geographic Medicine and Infectious Diseases at Tufts Medical Center. Along with this role, Dr. Boucher also stands as the director of the Tufts Center for Integrated Management of Antimicrobial Resistance, director of the Heart Transplant Ventricular Assist Device Infectious Diseases Program, and a professor at Tufts University School of Medicine. 

Dr. John F. Brown, class of 1978, is another greatly respected member of the medical community and has dedicated his career to the aid of the San Francisco community. Serving as the Medical Director of the San Francisco Emergency Medical Services Agency, along with the Associate clinical professor of emergency medicine at the University of California, San Francisco Medical School. Lastly, Dr. Brown is an attending physician at the San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center. 

Graphic design by Hui Li ’21

Dr. Christopher A. Crean, class of 1997, is a celebrated emergency physician who received his doctorate from Georgetown Medical School. For his residency Dr. Crean worked with the Carolinas Medical Center in Charlotte NC, and earned the Outstanding Resident Research Achievement Award. From his residency program he became an assistant professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical School. Currently Dr. Crean serves as the associate director and department chairman for the Emergency Department at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital. 

Theresa A. Crean, class of 1997, is a registered nurse and certified sign language interpreter also at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital, Somerset New Jersey. After over a decade of service as a sign language interpreter, earning the National Certificate of Interpretation and the National Certificate of Transliteration, she became a nurse in 2019. Combining these two fields, Theresa has aided in the communication between those placed on ventilators, and thus unable to communicate. 

Christine Carroll Krisch, class of 2006, is a senior nurse at the Cardio-Thoracic ICU at New York Presbyterian Weill Cornell Medical Center. While being a figurehead in the field of nursing education, Christine also is the chief nursing officer at Daybreak Health, which is a startup company in New York City that provides rapid testing for COVID-19. Lastly, Christine works part time as a senior nurse in the Cardio-Thoracic ICU, also at the New York Presbyterian Hospital. 

Ronald R. Lawson, class of 1975, is the chief operating official of CFH, Care for the Homeless. CFH is a nonprofit organization which fights homelessness in New York City and across the entire state. CFH provides shelter and human services, along with advocating for policies throughout New York that support preventing and ultimately ending homelessness. Through his work, starting in 2016, Ronald and CFH have established 26 sites across New York City and hope to have over 32 sites by 2024. 

The final recipient of this years Sanctae Crucis awards if Erin C. McAleer, class of 2002. Erin is the president of Project Bread, an anti-hunger organization in Massachusetts. As the leading anti-hunger organization in the state, Erin has been integral to the establishment of Project Bread’s legacy as an organization at the forefront of development of new anti-hunger strategies and their implementation. Erin makes impactful decisions of where change is necessary and how said change can be enacted. 

All seven of these alumni will be receiving their awards virtually on May 4th at 7:30 pm. All members of the Holy Cross Community are encouraged to watch the presentation and register through this link:

Congratulations to all of this year’s recipients!

Categories: News

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s